盟友光譜

此為一項用以檢視社交及團體作用力之範圍的策略工具。從最強力的反對者到最積極的支持者,各自坐落在光譜之上。這項工具可以發現戰術是否能吸引關鍵的盟友;透過體認出我們不需要爭取每個人的支持而激發出更樂觀的動員行動;並評估團體是否需要針對盟友進行更多的研究。

所需時間: 15-30 分钟 群體大小: 5-50+ 人

此為一項用以檢視社交及團體作用力之範圍的策略工具。從最強力的反對者到最積極的支持者,各自坐落在光譜之上。這項工具可以發現戰術是否能吸引關鍵的盟友;透過體認出我們不需要爭取每個人的支持而激發出更樂觀的動員行動;並評估團體是否需要針對盟友進行更多的研究。

 

步驟1、說明概念

在許多社會變革情況中,有著想要變革的人與拒絕變革的人之間的鬥爭。一方面,有人是積極支持變革的人──不只是相信變革,而是採取行動實現變革的人。另一方面,也有人是積極的反對者,積極採取行動來阻止變革。

進行社會運動時,我們常常專注在這兩個群體──然而大多數的民眾都是坐落在二者之間。社群(城鎮、州省等等)裡面有各式各樣的團體,包括在光譜上最接近您團體觀點的人及離您最遠的人。這個盟友光譜就是描繪出這一點。

盟友光譜的目的就是找出不同的群體-或明確的群體──分佈在不同的類別之中,然後設計行動及戰術將他們往左邊一塊一塊地移過去

 

步驟二、這項工具的優點

好消息:在大多數的社會變革倡議中,不一定要將反對者拉到您這邊。只需要將中間派往您的方向拉靠近一步。這很重要。如果我們把每個區塊都移動一步,我們就很有可能勝出,即便是另外一端的死硬派就是不動也還是贏。這代表我們的目標不是去說服化石燃料業者自我了斷。而是去推動社會的其他區塊去推倒他們。

常常社運份子都會錯認為一定要把所有人都拉到自己這邊來才行(也因此感到絕望),或是以為我們需要改變化石燃料業者或其他積極反對的人(再次感到絕望)。當主辦人將樂觀的態度,而非滿滿的絕望,帶入動員任務中,就會更容易拉大家一起參與。

盟友光譜也提醒我們需要各種不同的角色。不同行動會觸及光譜上不同區塊的人,所以從遊說政治人物到街頭遊行,都有許多方式可以支援一場倡議造勢。

這項工具同時可評量我們的工作成效。從量化的角度來看,我們有將特定區塊的群眾拉到我們這邊來嗎?如果沒有,我們得重新設計我們的策略。

 

步驟3、填寫圖表

這項工具對小組討論來說更為有用。花些時間將明確的群眾與團體填進圖表之中。要注意的是您必須要很具體,這項工具才有用。舉個例子,「大眾」就太空泛了,而您的策略也會因此窒礙難行。反之,找出明確的群體──有電話或地址的團體──某個您可以參加其會議或面見其領導人的團體。想想看明確的個體,考量的不只是政治影響力,還有其社會影響力,像是長老及社區領導人。(影響力圖表繪製活動)

 

步驟4、檢視所學及心得

在團體討論中分享所學及心得。團體可能會發現他們需要進行更多研究。或是出現重要且有趣的爭辯,討論各個群體在光譜上的位置。

 

其他心得包括:

  • 若能將一個原本是有點敵意的團體轉化成中立的團體,那就是一大勝利。
  • 若能將貼近您這端的某個團體/區塊,移到積極支持的區塊,那就是一大勝利。
  • 通常不需要將反對者拉向您這端一步,就能取得勝利,但這樣可以讓勝利來得更快。
  • 這項工具顯示出您需要知道更多的區塊,進而發現需要研究的地方。
  • 這可顯示描繪出各種群體的重要性:遭受該情況直接影響的人、認為自己是您的盟友的人,以及「有權有勢」的人(政府官員等)。所有的群體可能會四散在整個光譜之中,所以重要的是:要注意他們各自的範圍,以及某些人能如何幫助您加強效果並支援您籌備中不同的面向。

注意您的團體對哪些區塊非常了解,或對哪些區塊所知有限。這樣才能讓您知道您應該與哪些團體見面,好深入了解盟友光譜上的特定區塊。計畫一下與他們接觸吧。

舉例來說,約旦有一群爭取增加公共運輸的社運份子,他們體認到自己想要吸引搭乘巴士的人加入,但卻對這群人所知有限。因此他們走出去,到公車站牌旁,還有搭上巴士與上百人進行一對一的交流,以傾聽他們的意見與洞見。


將這資源嵌入網頁:

Spectrum of Allies

A strategy tool to examine the range of social forces and groups, spread across a spectrum, from those who are the most dedicated opponents to those who are the most active supporters. This tool can uncover how tactics need to be planned in relation to whether or not they attract key allies; encourage more optimistic mobilisation efforts through a realization that it is not necessary to win over everyone to our point of view; and assess where a group needs to do more research related to allies.

Time: 15-30 minutes Group Size: 5-50+ people

Step 1. Explain the concept

In most social-change situations there is a struggle between those who want the change and those who don’t. On the one hand, there are people who are active supporters of the change—not just people who believe in the change but people who are taking actions to make it a reality. On the other hand, there are people who are active opposers, people who actively take actions to prevent the change.

In activist work, we often are focussed on those two groups — yet most people are somewhere between. Societies (towns, provinces, etc.) include a range of groups that can be put on a spectrum from closest to the point of view of your group to farthest away. This spectrum of allies illustrates this point.

The goal of the spectrum of allies is to identify different people—or specific groups of people—in each category, then design actions and tactics to move them one wedge to the left.

spectrumofallies

Step 2. Explain benefits of this tool

Good news: in most social-change campaigns it is not necessary to win over the opponent to your point of view. It is only necessary to move the central pie wedges one step in your direction.

This is important. If we shift each wedge one step, we are likely to win, even if the hardliners on the other side never move. That means our goal is not to convince the fossil fuel industry to end themselves. Instead, it is moving the rest of the society to shut them down.

Often activists have the mistaken idea that they need to win everyone to their side (which invites despair), or that we need to change the fossil fuel industry or other people actively fighting against the campaign (again inviting despair). When organisers bring an optimistic attitude, instead of one of despair, to the task of mobilisation, it is a lot easier to get people on board.

The Spectrum of Allies also reminds us there is a need for many roles. Different actions will reach folks at different places in the spectrum, so there are many ways to support a campaign, from lobbying politicians to marching in the streets.

This tool also evaluates our work. Can we show that we are measurably moving some segment of people over to our side? If not, we need to rethink our strategy.

Step 3. Fill out the chart

This tool is even useful for small groups. Take some time to fill out the chart with specific people and groups. Note that you need to be specific to make this tool work. “The public,” for example, is far too broad to reach, and your strategy will suffer as a result. Instead, identify specific groups—groups that have a phone number, or an address –– a group you could attend a meeting of, or meet with a leader. Think of specific individuals, both politically influential, but also socially influential, like elders and community leaders. (Read more about power-mapping.)

Step 4. Review learnings and lessons

Share reflections and lessons in the whole group. The group may realise it needs to do more research. Or it may have important, interesting debates about where people are on the spectrum.

Other lessons include:

  • It is a huge win if you can get a group that was slightly hostile to move into neutrality.
  • It is a huge win if you can get the group/wedge next to your end of the spectrum to move into activism.
  • It is usually not necessary to move the opponents a step toward you in order to win, although it can make the win happen faster.
  • This tool can identify areas of research by showing where you need to know more.
  • It can show the importance of mapping out a range of people: those who are directly impacted by the situation, people who think of themselves as your allies, and people who are “powerholders” (government officials, etc). All of those people may be spread out across the spectrum so it is important to notice their range and how some of them may help you focus your efforts and support different aspects of your organising.

Notice which slices your group knows a lot, or a little, about. This shows which groups you should try to meet with in order to know more about that wedge of the spectrum of allies. Create a plan to reach out to them.

For example, Jordanian activists fighting for an expansion of public transportation realised they wanted to involve people who rode buses, but didn’t know them. So they hung out at bus stops and rode the bus to initiate one-on-ones with hundreds of people, to hear their opinion and insights. (Read more about their campaign here.)


Embed this resource: