檢視活動的時間軸

這項活動的目標相當直接明瞭:讓大家拉出過去的一段時間軸,例如六個月,上面列出自己所做的事情。我們鼓勵以小組的形式進行反思,這樣您就可以取得各式各樣的意見以及更多大家參與的機會。此外,小組也是讓成員彼此合作的另一種方式,特別適合鼓勵大家與他們沒合作過或鮮少合作的成員組成小組。

所需時間: 35 minutes 群體大小: 5-40 people

步驟1:引導大家畫出活動的時間軸

一開始先請大家分成小組,每一組人數控制在 5人以下最好(請與不太熟悉的人一組)。

在牆上畫出(或先畫好)一條時間軸──以「六個月前」做開頭,線的另一端則寫著「現在」。

告訴大家:「我希望你們能想想看你曾針對氣候變遷所做過的各種工作。哪些是在過去六個月以來,發生過的大型活動或重大的事情?」(若您的團體之前都非常地忙碌,您可以縮短時間軸。)

接著說明:「這活動的目標不是要記流水帳,而是抓出關鍵的時刻,讓團體了解我們工作的整個過程。然後,當大家準備好後,把這些活動放到時間軸上,讓大家看看我們團體工作的整個過程。」

給大家一個能把所有活動分別記下來,並沿著時間軸放上去的方式。您可以使用:

  • 貼有膠帶的小紙張
  • 便條紙
  • 牆上擺掛圖紙,並給大家麥克筆

給大家10分鐘以內的時間進行這部分。您給大家的時間越長,他們就會放上越多的事情,並需要更長的時間進行匯報分享。許多組別可以在7分鐘左右的時間,不慌不忙地進行這項活動。

 

步驟2:立即回顧當時的情形

詢問:看看這條時間軸,你感覺如何?找看看任何驚訝的感受。大家常會發現他們做的比想像中的還多,或還少,或進行得比他們所想的還要曲折,或獲得比他們所想的還要多成就。對一些常常忙來忙去的人來說,看到他們的確做了許多事情是很有成就感的。(「啊!難怪我會這麼累!」)

 

步驟3:看看什麼是整個團隊所創造的動能主軸

接著,幫助大家在上面找看看策略上的課題或洞見。以小組來討論的效果最佳。請各個小組思考以下幾點:

  • 我們所做的有什麼高明之處嗎?
  • 我們要怎樣才能最有效果?
  • 我們的方式有哪些是沒什麼用的?

在小組討論完後,列出一連串有洞見的清單,在團體討論中讓大家分享學到的課題。

 

步驟4:應用

本項活動非常適合作為團體企劃的開頭。舉例來說,從討論當中,團體可能列出一連串他們想在未來進行的事情──相當適合在進行新手法的腦力激盪前進行。

在額外的腦力激盪/技能訓練後,您可以使用這樣的時間軸架構來規劃未來行動。大家可以放上並建立之後的行動──關鍵行動、大事、已知的重要政治性日期,都可以放在時間軸的未來方向上。


將這資源嵌入網頁:

Review of Activities Timeline

The goal of this activity is straightforward: getting people to create a timeline of what they have been up to in the last, say, six months. We encourage reflection in small groups so that you get a wide range of input and more chances for participation. Plus, small groups are another way of getting participants to work with each other, especially if you encourage people to get into groups with people they don’t as well or don’t work with as often.

Time: 35 minutes Group Size: 5-40 people

Step 1: Facilitate creating a timeline of activities

Start by getting people into small groups, preferably 5 people or less (with people they know less well).

Put up (or have prepared) a timeline that’s on the wall — starting with “6 months ago” and a line and at the other end it says “Now.”

Tell people: “I’d like you to think about the different work you’ve been doing on climate change. What are some of the big activities or events that have happened in the last six months?” (If your group has been unusually busy, you might shorten this timeline.)

Continue to explain: “The goal is not to get every detail, but it is to get a good sense of key moments so the group can get a sense of the overall flow of the work. Then, when you’re ready, post those onto the timeline, so we can see the overall flow of our collective work.”

Give people some way to each activity down separately so they can be posted approximately along the timeline. You can use:

  • scraps of paper with tape, or
  • post-it notes, or
  • a flip-chart at the front of the wall and give people markers.
Timeline with "6 months ago" on the left side and "now" on the right side. Post-it notes spread across the timeline.

Give people no more than 10 minutes to do this. The longer you give them, the more things they will come up with and the longer the debrief. Many groups can do this without being too rushed in about 7 minutes.

 

Step 2: Immediately reflect on what that was like

Ask: “Looking at this timeline, what do you feel?” Look for any surprising feelings. People may notice they do more than they believe they do, or less, or that they meander more than they think, or that they have had more accomplishments than they think. For some people who move constantly, it can be rewarding to see that they have indeed done a lot (“Ah! That’s why I’m so tired!”).

 

Step 3: Generalise for lessons on the campaign/group

Next, help people look at strategy lessons or insights that come from the list. This is often best done in small groups. Ask the small groups to reflect on:

  • What’s smart about what we’re doing?
  • How do we work most effectively?
  • What are our patterns that aren’t as useful?

After some small group reflection, make a list of insights in a whole-group discussion for all to share the lessons.

 

Step 4: Application

This activity is a great beginning to a session on group planning. For example, out of the conversation, the group may create a list of things they want to do differently in the future—perfect before brainstorming on new tactics.

After some additional brainstorming/skill-building, you can use the timeline structure to plan future actions. People can put up and create upcoming actions—key actions, events, known key political dates, that get placed on the future end of the timeline. (For more interactive ways to plan campaigns, see the Paper Plate Challenge.)


Embed this resource: