如何設計倡議計畫: 紙盤挑戰

倡議造勢不會畢其功於一役,而是透過一連串的行動才能取得勝利。然而很多時候,我們只在事前設計一場行動。也因此可能會有問題,因為當活動結束後,民眾就會想知道:「然後咧?」往往行動之後,他們會充滿動力想繼續下去。如果我們沒準備好下一步,就會浪費掉他們的動力。這個工具就是幫助我們事前先做好準備,好維持大家的動能。這個工具很適合大家想出各種可能的戰術之後,或是在倡議工作坊結束前要總結出計畫時所用。

所需時間: 20-45 分钟 群體大小: 10-50+ 人

步驟1:分成小組並準備

首先,將成員分成小組──大概四到五人一組就好。讓各個組別分散至房間的各個角落。分成小組來討論有助於大家提出新想法、針對各個戰術之效果發表意見,及有助於決定戰術實行的先後順序。先說在前頭,這樣做可能不簡單。

分給每一組五到六個紙盤(或其他可以在上面寫字的東西)。

放一個象徵物,像是一碗水果,在房間的中央,並說明這就代表我們要努力達成的願景。這就是我們要努力前進的方向。

分派任務:

在每個紙盤上,寫下您覺得團體應該進行的戰術或行動。在一張紙張/紙盤上寫下戰術/行動。當大家寫出一連串他們很想做的事情後,請大家從各自的位置開始,將自己的紙盤以團體可以進行這些戰術/行動的順序,一路排往中間的碗(或任何象徵物)。

告知各個組別,在這場小活動中,他們應該注意:如何把這些戰術結合在一起?怎樣的順序最合理?如何用這些戰術及行動,讓更多不在倡議造勢中的人一起參與呢?

這代表他們可能需要重新安排順序,或是拿掉一些戰術,或是依主題進行微調,或是全心全意專注在單一的目標上。

回答任何問題──並放手讓他們進行!不用準備太多,您就可以讓您的團體進行有深度的策略規劃。

步驟2:分組工作

讓各個組別開始工作。視團體而定,他們可能需要最多40分鐘來進行這個步驟。成員之間彼此的討論與歧異都是一個學習的機會。主持人應該到各個組別去,隨時回答任何問題、給予支持、引導,並提供相關資源。

各個組別可能需要一些支援,來設計出優質的策略。當您來到各個小組時,您可能需要提供他們一些支援,釐清他們的思考脈絡。以下是幾個他們需要注意的共通原則:

  • 舒適圈 • 您的團體是否都固定做同樣的行動呢?您還能做出什麼更大膽的行動?這不代表一定得做像直接行動那樣高風險的行動。舉例來說,有個團體正在為核心志工團隊舉辦頒獎典禮。為了更有挑戰性,他們告知每個志工在典禮上必須發表演說,分享在倡議造勢中學到的一課。結果辦出一場非常動人的頒獎派對,讓整個團體踏出舒適圈。 
  • 行動邏輯對一個客觀的觀眾來說,您的行動說明了您的身分、您的訴求,並讓他們想要支持您嗎?行動邏輯便是從您團體以外的觀點來看,您的行動合理性與邏輯性程度。行動本身應該要有邏輯:這件事發生了,因此我們要做這件事。這在直接行動裡更為重要,也就是您要展現出您試圖創造的正向改變,或是試圖阻止的負面事物。

 

  • 心理 • 您的行動可能很好玩,或很有啟發性,甚或是讓人怒不可遏。想想看您的活動要帶給參與者什麼東西。一場反對獨裁政權的人民運動就是這樣設計的。在一場大型集會及新年晚會的結尾,派對戛然而止。他們放上該年遭到政府殺害的人,他們的名字及面孔。接著他們宣布:「當獨裁者仍握有權力,我們就沒理由慶祝。直到我們推翻獨裁者之後,我們才該慶祝。」參加派對的人離去時,腦海中便會牢牢記著這個強烈的訊息。
  • 構建敘事  • 您的行動要能說個故事。彼此是如何相連結?要能夠如何訴說一個代表您自己與您的訴求的完整故事?更重要的是,媒體或一般民眾或您的目標群眾可以聽進去並了解您的敘事嗎?

 

當大家準備結束時,您可以宣布休息,讓他們能夠輕鬆地與彼此分享、用休息時間來作結,或單純聆聽其他人的例子,做為自己的喘口氣的時間。

步驟3:簡短匯報

休息之後,花個幾分鐘時間進行匯報。請大家思考一下,自己剛剛做的事情成效如何。

此時您有幾個選擇。您可以單純分成幾組來分享。若該團體是要針對戰術及行動下決定,那您可以請大家先分享,之後一起設計出一套整個團體能實行的計畫。無論如何,您要做的就是幫助大家透過事先籌備,制定可以創造動能的計畫──而這對任何團體來說都是件好事!


將這資源嵌入網頁:

How to Create a Campaign Plan: the Paper Plate Challenge

Campaigns aren’t won all at once; instead, they are won through a series of actions. Yet, too often, we design only one action ahead of time. That can be a problem – when that action is over, people want to know what comes next. Right after the action they are energized and ready to do the next thing, and we lose that energy if we don’t have the next step. This tool is about helping us plan ahead and keep momentum. It’s a great tool to use after people have been thinking about possible tactics, or near the end of a campaign workshop to finalise a plan.

Time: 20-45 minutes Group Size: 10-50+ people

Step 1: Create groups and set-up

First, put participants into small groups – groups of four to five work well. Have the groups spread out around the room. Working in groups will help folks get new ideas, get feedback about the effectiveness of each tactic, and help decide the order of the tactics. Acknowledge up front that it may be difficult.

Give each group five or six paper plates (or anything else someone can write on).

Put a symbol, like a bowl of fruit, in the middle of the room and explain that this represents the vision of what we are trying to accomplish. It’s what we are working toward.

Give the task:

On each paper plate, have participants write down a tactic or action that they think the group should do. Write each tactic/action on a single plate. After each group has a list they feel strongly about, invite people to start from where they are and put down their paper plates in an order the group could do the tactics/actions until they reach the bowl (or whatever symbol they are using).

Tell the groups that during this exercise they should consider: How do these tactics fit together? What order makes the most sense? How would you use these tactics and actions to involve people outside of the campaign?

This means they may want to re-arrange, or take out some tactics, or adapt them to be on a similar theme, or all focused on a single target.

Answer any questions — then let them do it! With very little preparation, you can get your group doing thoughtful strategy.

 

Step 2: Groups work

Have the groups start working. Depending on the group, they may need up to 40 minutes for this step. Disagreement and discussion among participants is great here for learning. Facilitators should visit the groups and be very available for answering questions, giving support, coaching, and serving as a resource.

Groups may need some support around creating a good strategy. As you visit the small groups, you might want to offer them support to sharpen their thinking. Common principles for them to consider:

  • Comfort zone • Is your group regularly doing the same actions? What are bolder actions you could do? This doesn’t necessarily mean doing a high-risk action, like direct action. For example, one group was holding an award ceremony for core volunteers. To make it more challenging, they told each volunteer that they had to give a short speech about one thing they learned during the campaign at the ceremony. The result was an emotional, powerful awards party that took the group outside their comfort zone (read more about expanding a group’s comfort zone).
  • Action logic • To an outside observer, does your action explain who you are, what you want, and make them want to support you? Action logic is the degree your action makes sense, logically, from the standpoint of someone not in your group. The action should have a logic: this thing happened, therefore we will do this thing. This is particularly true in direct action, when you need to show the positive change you are trying to make, or the negative things you are trying to stop (read more about action logic).
  • Psychology • Your action might be fun, or inspiring, or angering. Think about where your action leaves your participants. A people’s movement fighting against a dictatorship designed an action this way: Toward the end of a massive rally and concert on New Years night, they abruptly stopped the party. They showed the names and faces of people killed by the government that year. Then they announced, “While the dictator is in power, there is no reason to party. When we overthrow the dictator, then we will party.” Party-goers left with this powerful message on their minds.
  • Building a narrative • Your actions should tell a story. How are they connected? How do they tell a single story of who you are and what you stand for? And, most importantly, can the media, an average bystander or your target understand and see that narrative?

As people are finishing, you might announce a break so that people can informally share with each other, spend part of the break finishing, or just read the other stepping stones.

 

Step 3: Short Debrief

After the break, spend a few minutes debriefing. Invite people to consider the usefulness of what they’ve just done.

At this point you have options. You could have a just a few groups share. If the group is going to make a decision on tactics and actions, you might have everyone share and then, together, create one plan for the entire group. Either way, what you’re doing is helping people make plans that create momentum by planning ahead — and that’s a good thing for any group’s efforts!


Embed this resource: