كيف نخلق زخمًا

أحيانًا نشعر أن بناء حركة مثل دفع صخرة إلى قمة جبل. نقاوم قوى كبرى يلزمها جهد فائق لتتزحزح من مكانها. وفي أحيانٍ أخرى نشعر وكأننا نهرول إلى أسفل المنحدر—نبدأ أمرًا ما فينطلق سريعا. أحيانًا نركض لنجاري الأحداث، ونستثمر طاقتنا لنساعد في وضع الفعاليات في مسارها وفي الاتجاه الصحيح. أيًا ما كان شعورنا تجاه عملنا، فهو بحاجة إلى نفس الشيء: الزخم.

ما الذي يساعد المجموعات على خلق الزخم إذًا؟ في ما يلي بعض الدروس المستفادة من شتى أنحاء العالم.

 

الربط بالقيم الاجتماعية السائدة

بدأ اثنان من المنظمين في عمان، عمر وهبة، حركة محلية للتغير المناخي تدعى “معًا نصل – النقل العام حقنا جميعًا.” بعد حضور قمة مشروع تحول الطاقة العالمي التي نظمتها منظمة 350، تعهد الاثنان بإنشاء حملة محلية تتناول التغير المناخي.

كانت المشكلة أن الحديث عن التغير المناخي غير شائع في الأردن. التقارير التي تتناول التغير المناخي قليلة—ولا يوجد تاريخ طويل من بناء حركة بيئية.

وهكذا بحث عمر وهبة عن طريقة لربط الموضوع بأهم المشاكل التي تشغل الناس. وجدوا أن غياب البنية التحتية للنقل العام لا يدع مجالًا أمام الأردنيين الأكثر فقرًا سوى شراء سيارات خاصة. ويتسبب ذلك بدوره في زيادة تلوث الهواء بشكل كبير، وهو واحد من أهم العناصر المساهمة في انبعاثات الغازات الدفيئة.

أثناء حديثهم عن المشكلة، اختاروا قيمًا مشتركة على نطاق واسع. وبدلًا من الاكتفاء ببناء الحملة على أساس قيمة التغير المناخي الخاصة بهم فقط، ضموا أشخاصًا جديدة في الحملة بناءً على قيم الآخرين أيضًا. لقد كانت الحملة بالفعل عن التغير المناخي—لكنهم تمكنوا من إشراك الناس بناءً على المشاكل الاجتماعية المتعلقة بعدم توفر وسائل النقل العام—والمشاكل الصحية وعدم العدالة الاقتصادية.

بعد الحديث مع سائقي الحافلات والمنظمات الشريكة، أصبحوا يديرون حملة ناجحة على نطاق المدينة لتغيير خطة استثمار الحكومة في النقل العام—وخلق نشاط متزايد حول مشكلة التغير المناخي.

ما هي القيم الاجتماعية السائدة التي تنتهكها السياسات الراهنة؟ ما هي القيم التي لم تستخدموها والتي يمكن ربطها بموضوع حركتكم أيضًا؟ كيف يمكن لحركتكم أن تنمو لتشمل أهم القيم السائدة في المجتمع؟

 

التخطيط مسبقًا لتحركين على الأقل

قد نضر أنفسنا أحيانًا بالتركيز على تنظيم تحرك واحد كبير فإذا نجح التحرك، تجدنا نسأل فور الانتهاء من العمل “ماذا الآن؟” وفي أغلب الأحيان لا تكون لدينا إجابة محددة.

في البرازيل، عملت نيكول أوليفيرا، إحدى منظِّمات350، ضمن تحالف ضخم لوقف استغلال شركات التكسير الهيدروليكي. حيث خططوا لتحرك كبير يوم 7 أكتوبر/تشرين الأول—اليوم الذي كانت تعتزم فيه الحكومة بيع حقوق الأراضي (بما في ذلك أراضٍ للسكان الأصليين) لشركات التكسير الهيدروليكي. لكن نيكول وفريقها كانوا يدركون أن التخطيط لتحركٍ واحدٍ فقط لن يكون كافيًا، وإلا لقامت الحكومة ببساطة بتأجيل البيع لما بعد التحرك.

لذا فقد خططوا مسبقًا للقيام بعدة تحركات: قبل التحرك بشهر، في اليوم العالمي للتحرك بلا سيارة، نظموا ماراثون على الأقدام والدراجات شارك به أكثر من 20 ألف شخص. وبعدها بفترة وجيزة، نظموا مسيرة مع مجموعة من المنتمين للديانات الإفريقية التقليدية. وقبل التحرك الأساسي بأسبوع، نظموا يومًا للتضامن العالمي. كل هذه التحركات تخلق زخمًا يدفع بالتحرك الأساسي نحو النجاح.

تجدر الإشارة هنا إلى أنهم وضعوا كل هذه الخطط مسبقًا. لقد بادروا بالتفكير مسبقًا في كيفية التواصل مع مختلف الأشخاص والجماهير. كل تحرك كان له قيمته الخاصة. لكن القيام بهذه التحركات سويًا يساعد الناس على الشعور بأنهم جزء من شيءٍ أكبر، وهنا تكمن القوة. فعند انتهاء المشاركين من مسيرة سبتمبر/أيلول كانوا يتلقون دعوة للتحركات التالية.

هذه نقطة بالغة الأهمية: بمجرد الانتهاء من تحرك ما نشرع فورًا في تنظيم الناس من أجل التحرك التالي. عندما ينقضي التحرك الأول، يكون لدينا دافع آخر يحرك الناس قدمًا. يخلق ذلك شعورًا بالزخم.

لا يقتصر ذلك على ما قبل عملية بيع حقوق الأراضي الكبرى وحسب. كان لدى نيكول وفريقها خططًا لما بعد التحرك الأساسي أيضًا. حيث هيأوا الناس لاستمرار الحركة، سواء فازوا أم خسروا، من خلال تنظيم فعاليات لما بعد يوم 7 أكتوبر/تشرين الأول.

إن وضع جدول فعاليات مستقبلية يتطلب شيئًا من الشجاعة. يعكس ذلك الثقة في قدرتنا التنظيميةحتى وإن لم يكن شكل التحرك واضحًا تمامًا وقت تحديد موعده. كيف يمكنكم وضع جدول كامل من الفعاليات، أو حتى التخطيط لتحركين متتاليين على الأقل؟

 

استخدام التشويق في تحركاتنا

يشير المثال السابق إلى طريقة أخرى لخلق الزخم، وهي استخدام عنصر التشويق.

أحيانًا تكون في حملتنا بطبيعتها مواعيد كهذه تخلق حالة من التشويق. لكن عندما لا تكون هناك مواعيد كهذه في حملتنا (وحتى إن وجدت)، نستطيع أن نتبع أسلوبًا قويًا ونصنع تحركات لها جانب تشويقي.

يمكن أن يتم هذا في التحركات القوية حقًا والناتجة عن تصعيد. قرر منظمو التغير المناخي في ألمانيا والبلاد المجاورة استخدام التشويق في خطتهم لإيقاف عمل أكبر حفارات الفحم في العالم (باغر 288). أعلنوا عن نواياهم ونشروا ما يلي على موقعهم: “بدءًا من 14 وحتى 16 أغسطس/آب، سنعمل بالاشتراك مع مئات الأشخاص على وقف المناجم في مناطق تعدين الفحم البني بالقرب من مدينة كولونيا كواحد من تحركات العصيان المدني.”

كانت خطتهم بسيطة لكنها طرحت بعض التحديات اللوجستية: أن نجعل مئات الأشخاص يوقفون عمل الحفارات فعليًا. للمساعدة في زيادة الزخم وضعوا مسبقًا خططًا لتحركات متعددة، بما في ذلك حث الناس على توقيع “إعلان النوايا” للانضمام إلى العصيان المدني وكذلك التنسيق مع الحلفاء، مثل مدرسة ديغروث الصيفية التي شاركت في الحملة لبناء معسكر مناخي متنوع، حيث يجتمع الناس ويتعرف بعضهم على الآخر، ويبنون ثقتهم في الحركة ويتعرفون على ما يمكننا فعله لتجنب الفوضى المناخية.

ماذا يمكن أن يحدث؟ هذا ما أراد الحلفاء والإعلام والجمهور معرفته. الجرأة جذبت الناس. خلقت اهتمامًا وفضولًا وزخمًا.

في النهاية شارك نحو 1500 شخص في هذا الشكل الشجاع من العصيان المدني وأغلقوا أكبر مصدر لانبعاثات ثاني أكسيد الكربون في أوروبا—حيث وقفوا الإنتاج في منجم راينلاند (http://350.org/ende-gelande-wrap-up/).

هناك عدة طرق لخلق التشويق بدرجات مجازفة متفاوتة: انضمت حركة 350 في نيوزيلندا بحملة لنشر نصوص المفاوضات السرية لاتفاقية الشراكة عبر المحيط الهادئ. ماذا كان ردهم؟ أعلنوا عن نيتهم بشن حملة سلمية وغير عنيفة لإجراء “بحث واستحواذ” ديمقراطي في مكاتب الحكومة لنشر النصوص. وهناك آخرون استخدموا المسابقات والجوائز—وهي طريقة أخرى للتشويق.

ما هي التحركات الأخرى التي خلقت تشويقًا—ليس بالنسبة للقائمين على التحرك وحسب، بل كانت مشوقة بما يكفي لجذب حلفاء آخرين؟  قد يتطلب القيام بهذه التحركات شجاعة وإبداع—كيف يمكن لمجموعتك أن  تبدع وتجرب أشكالًا جديدة من التحركات؟ ما الذي قد تجربه لإضفاء عنصر التشويق؟

 

تخطيط التحركات أثناء فعاليات ينظمها آخرون لجذب الانتباه

يقول كام فنتون، أحد المنظمين الكنديين، واصفًا سياقهم السياسي: “مع انهيار أسعار النفط، وصيف شهد حرائقًا هائلة تاريخيًا، وإعلام يبدو على استعداد أخيرًا للحديث عن التغير المناخي، أصبحت لدينا الوصفة المثالية لطرح المناخ كموضوع رئيس بالانتخابات الكندية المقبلة. لكن الزيادة المستمرة في الانبعاثات ودرجات الحرارة  لم تضاهيها زيادة في طموح الأحزاب السياسية الكندية .”

كان هدفهم دفع الإعلام والحوار العام قدمًا. وكان من الممكن أن ينسقوا حركاتهم وفعالياتهم بأنفسهم—وقد يغطي بعض من وسائل الإعلام المتعاطفة الفعاليات ويربط موضوع التغير المناخي بالانتخابات. لكن مع عدم رغبة معظم الزعماء المنتخبين في الخوض بشكل كامل في مشكلة التغير المناخي وميل معظم وسائل الإعلام إلى مجاراتهم في ذلك، اختار منظمو 350 في كندا استراتيجية مختلفة: الذهاب حيث تتجه الأنظار بالفعل.

كانت استراتيجيتهم: تتبع المرشحين في فعالياتهم العامة ومقاطعتهم للحديث عن التغير المناخي. (غالبًا ما يسمى هذا بتكتيك الملاحقة، ويتم من خلال الضغط على نفس الهدف بتوجيه نفس الرسالة أينما ذهبوا.) لم يضطروا إلى تجنيد الإعلام أو جماهير من العامة—فقد كانوا هناك بالفعل. و بدلًا من ذلك اكتفوا “ببساطة” ببذل جهد لمعرفة جدول لقاءات السياسيين العامة وتسللوا إليها.

نجح التكتيك، كما حدث عندما لاحق النشطاء رئيس الوزراء المحافظ ستيفن هاربر بعد أن تمكنوا من الدخول إلى واحدة من فعالياته العامة. نظم نشطاء التغير المناخي المحليون والنقابات الداعمة مسيرة داعمة بالخارج. وبالداخل تسلل شخصان يحملان لافتات كتب عليها “صوتوا للعدالة المناخية.” ومع أنهم أخرجوا على الفور، إلا أن صورهم انتشرت بشكل سريع وواسع، حتى أنها أثارت ردودًا من زعماء الأحزاب على موقع تويتر. (للمزيد: http://350.org/crashing-harpers-campaign/)

تقول أورور فوريه، إحدى منظمي التحرك، شارحة المفهوم: “الغرض هو خلق زخم من خلال استعراض نطاق المعارضة الواسع.” نجح ذلك في حالتهم بشكل كبير لأنهم لم يعتمدوا على قدرتهم على جذب انتباه الإعلام، بل ذهبوا حيث كان انتباه الإعلام مسلطًا بالفعل.

بوجه عام، نفذت فكرة الذهاب حيث تلقى الفعاليات اهتمامًا بالفعل بطرق أقل مواجهة أيضًا، مثل إقناع مغنيين مشهورين بتضمين رسالة عن التغير المناخي في حفلاتهم، أو التنسيق مع مسيرة دراجات هوائية لتضمين رسالة عن التغير المناخي أثناء سيرها. http://350.org/ende-gelande-wrap-up/

ما هي الفعاليات الاجتماعية أو الثقافية أو السياسية المقبلة التي تحظى بالاهتمام بالفعل؟ هل هناك بعض من ضمن هذه الفعاليات يمكنك التواصل معه—إما من خلال الاستيلاء عليه أو لعب دور داعم؟ كيف يمكن لذلك أن يساعدنا في بناء علاقات جديدة وزيادة النشاط؟

 

عرض مسؤوليات محددة على الناس من أجل استمرار المشاركة

لا يوجد شيء من شأنه إحباط الزخم بسرعة مثل عدم تقديم مهمة تالية محددة للناس. قد نخسر أعضاء وزعماء جدد محتملين، لكن  غياب التوجه قد يؤدي أيضًا إلى الشعور بالإحباط والإرهاق واليأس.

نحتاج إلى التفكير في كيفية دعم نوعية العلاقات ودعوة الآخرين إلى تولي مسؤوليات أكبر بالعمل. على سبيل المثال، خصصوا وقتًا للمقابلات الفردية، واعرفوا نقاط قوة المشاركين وسبب انضمامهم إلى آخر تحرك. ضعوا سويًا تصورًا لما يمكن أن يضيفوه إلى العمل لزيادة قوة الفريق—هل يمكنهم حضور فعالية اجتماعية مقبلة أو في مجموعة دينية أو التعاون مع عضو حالي للاجتماع في الجلسة الفنية المقبلة؟

تصف فريال، منظمة من جنوب أفريقيا، كيف يكون مجرد الجلوس مع الناس عملية البداية: “نحن نحاول النشاط في مناطق تفتقر إلى التنظيم الجيد. العديد ممن نعمل معهم غير مهتمون بالسياسة، ولذا علينا الدخول في التنظيم رويدًا. كثيرًا ما نبدأ على نحو غير رسمي للغاية. كأن ندعوهم مثلًا لتناول القهوة معنا. ومن هنا تبدأ رويدًا في الحديث عن مشاكل التغير المناخي وتسألهم إن كانوا يرغبون في الانضمام إلى الفريق الأساسي. وإن التقطوا الطعم هناك احتمال كبير أن يرغبوا في المشاركة. لكن عليك وقتها أن تعمل معهم على تطوير مجموعة وبدء حملة صغيرة جدًا.”

مع كل خطوة تكبر المهام: تناولوا القهوة، انضموا إلى الفريق المنظم، ثم أديروا حملة أولية. وفي كل مرحلة نقدم خطوات محددة يمكنهم اتباعها للاستمرار في المشاركة—ولا يقتصر الأمر على التحركات، بل يشمل أيضًا مهام التقدم للزعامة، وتجنيد آخرين، والمساعدة في قاعدة البيانات—أي شيء يبقي الصلة مع الأفراد.

كيف تساعد الناس في تولي مهام قيادية أكثر؟ كيف تذهب لمقابلة الأشخاص أينما وجدوا—ثم كيف تساعدهم على التعرف على اهتمامتهم ومهاراتهم، بحيث تتمكن من تكليفهم بمهام واضحة؟


إستخدم هذا المورد

How to Create Momentum

Building a movement can sometimes feel like pushing a boulder up a hill. We’re pushing against major forces who take great effort to budge. Other times it can feel like racing downhill — we start something and it quickly takes-off. Sometimes we are running to keep up with what is happening, spending energy to help events roll on course and in the right direction. Whatever our work feels like, it needs the same thing: momentum.

So what helps groups create momentum? Here are a few lessons from around the world.

 

Connect with widely-held social values

Two organisers in Amman, Jordan, Omar and Hiba, started a local climate change group called We Get Together: we are all entitled public transport (معاً نصل – النقل العام حقنا جميعاً). After attending 350’s Global PowerShift, they committed to building a local campaign to address climate change.

The problem is talking about climate change is not common in Jordan. Few reporters talk about climate change—and there’s not a long history of environmental movement-building.

So Omar and Hiba looked for a way that could connect to the issues that were most important to people. They saw that the lack of public transportation infrastructure gives poorer Jordanians no option but to purchase private cars. That in turn causes massive air pollution and is one of the biggest contributors to greenhouse gas emissions.

In talking about the issue, they picked widely-shared values. Instead of basing the campaign only around their value of climate change, they brought new people into the campaign based on other people’s values, too. The campaign was about climate change—but they got people involved based on the social problems of the lack of public transportation—the health problem and economic injustice.

After talking with bus riders and partner organisations, they are running a successful citywide campaign to change the government’s investment in public transportation—and build growing energy around the issue of climate change.

What are widely-held social values that are being violated by current policy? What are some values that you have not used that can also be tied to your issue? How can your movement grow to embrace the best of widely-held social values?

 

Plan at least two actions ahead of time

Sometimes we can focus on organising a single big action to our own detriment. If the action is successful, when people are done with the action they ask, “So what’s next?” But too often we don’t have a concrete answer.

In Brazil, 350 organiser Nicole Oliveira is working in a large coalition to stop the exploitation by fracking companies. They have big action plans for 7 October—the day when the government is selling off lands rights (including indigenous lands) to fracking companies. What happens in 7 October is crucial.

Yet they are planning ahead with multiple actions. 20 September (international day without a car) they’re taking part in a 20,000+ person marathon/bike ride/walk. They’re also organising a march with people from traditional African religions. Then 4 October they’re orchestrating international solidarity dates (which you can participate and learn more about at www.350.org/nofrackingbrazil).

They’ve organised all these plans ahead of time. They have thought ahead about how to connect with different people and audiences. Each action has its own value. But the power is that taken together it helps people feel part of something—when someone finishes the walk in September they get invited to the next upcoming actions.

This is key: Once we’re done with one action, we organise people into the second. When the first action is over, we have something else to carry people forward. That creates a feeling of momentum.

And it’s not limited to just before the major land rights sale. They have plans afterwards, too. Whether they win or lose, they’ve already prepared people with the idea that the movement will continue by having post-7 October events organised.

It takes some boldness to create a future schedule of events. It shows confidence in our organising capacity—even if we put it on a calendar when the action isn’t totally known. How could you create a whole schedule of events, or even just plan for at least two actions in a row?

 

Use suspense in our actions

The above example raises another way to create momentum, which is the use of suspense. We don’t know what will happen on 7 October—and that creates interest and causes people to talk about it, too.

Sometimes our campaign naturally has dates like that which create suspense. But when those aren’t in our campaign (or even when they are), we can take a powerful attitude and create our own actions that involve suspense.

This can be in really powerful, escalated actions. Climate change organisers in and around Germany decided to use suspense in their plan to shut-down the largest coal diggers in the world (the Bagger 288). They openly made their intention known, putting on their website, “From the 14th to the 16th of August, we, together with hundreds of people, will stop the mines in the lignite mining area near Cologne in an action of Civil Disobedience.”

Their plan was straightforward, though logistically challenging: to bring hundreds of people to physically shut-down the diggers. To help add to the momentum they planned multiple actions ahead of time, including getting people to sign a “declaration of intent” to engage in civil disobedience and coordinating with allies like the Degrowth Summer school who joined forces to build a diverse climate camp, a place to get together, get to know each other, build trust in the movement and learn what we can do to prevent climate chaos.

What would happen? That’s what allies, the media, and the public wanted to know. The boldness enticed people. It created interest, curiosity, and momentum.

In the end, nearly 1,500 people took part in the daring act of civil disobedience and shut down Europe’s biggest source of CO2 emissions—shutting down production in the Rhineland mine (http://350.org/ende-gelande-wrap-up/).

There are lots of ways of creating suspense of varying risks: 350 New Zealand has joined with a campaign to release the secretive negotiating texts of the Trans-Pacific Partnership Agreement (TPPA). Their response? Announcing their intention to peaceably and nonviolently carry out a democratic “search and seizure” on government offices to release the texts. Or others have used contests or raffles—which is another version of suspense.

What are other actions that have created suspense—not just for the actors but enough that it attracted other allies? Creating these actions may involve boldness and creativity—what are ways your group gets creative and experiments with new kinds of actions? What might you try that would involve suspense?

 

Plan actions at others’ attention-getting events

Canadian organiser Cam Fenton describes their political context, “With a collapsed price of oil, a summer of historic wildfires and a media that finally seems be ready to talk about climate change, we have a perfect recipe for climate to be front and centre during the upcoming Canadian election. Yet, while emissions and temperatures are rising, the ambition of Canada’s political parties isn’t.”

Their goal was to push the media and public conversation further. They could have orchestrated their own actions and events—and maybe a handful of sympathetic media would cover the events and connect the issue of climate change to the election. But with most elected leaders unwilling to fully address climate change and most media willing to along with that, 350 Canada picked a different strategy: go to where the attention already was.

Their strategy: following candidates on their public events and interrupt them to talk about climate change. (This tactic is often called bird-dogging, which works by pressuring the same target with the same message wherever they go.) They didn’t have to recruit the media or an audience from the public—that was already there. Instead, they “simply” did the hard work of finding out the politicians’ public schedules and then snuck in.

The tactic worked, like when Conservative Prime Minister Stephen Harper was hounded by activists who managed to get into one of his public events. Local climate activists and supportive unions organised a support rally outside. Inside, two people snuck in and held up signs “Vote for Climate Justice.” They were immediately physically removed, but pictures of them went viral and even sparked twitter responses from party leaders. (More at: http://350.org/crashing-harpers-campaign/)

One of the organisers of the action, Aurore Fauret, explains the concept, “It’s about creating momentum by showing the breadth of dissent.” This largely worked for them because rather than relying on their own ability to recruit media attention, they were showing up where media already are.

Broadly, this concept of going where events are already getting attention has been done in less confrontational ways, too, such as convincing high-profile singers to include a message about climate change in their concert or getting organisers of a march bike ride to include action messages on climate change.

What are some upcoming social, cultural, or political events where there is already attention? Are there some of them that you can connect with—either by taking them over, or playing a supportive role? How can this help us build new relationships and energy?

Offer people specific responsibilities to stay involved

Few things can stop momentum as quickly as not offering people something concrete to do next. We can lose potential new members and leaders, but also without direction it can lead to feelings of despair, burn-out, or hopelessness.

We need to think about how to support the quality of the relationships and invite others to take greater responsibility for the work. For example, find a time to meet one to one, find out what their strengths are and why they were drawn to the last action. Together, envision what they can bring to your work to make the team stronger—can they present at an upcoming community event or religious community or be paired with a current member to convene the next art-making session?

South Africa organiser Ferrial describes how just sitting down with people is a beginning process, “We are trying activism in areas that are not well-organised. Many of the people we work with are not that interested in politics, and so we have to ease into organising. We often start very casually. Like, ‘we’re hosting a coffee, please come.’ From that, you kind of ease into talking about climate change issues and ask if they want to join a core team. If they’ve taken the hook chances are they want to be involved. But then work with them to develop a group and start off with very small campaigns.”

Each step the asks grow: have coffee, join the core team, and then run an initial campaign. At each stage we offer different specific steps they can take to stay involved—not only actions but also tasks to step into leadership, recruit other people, help with the database—anything that keeps people connected.

How are you helping people step into more leadership? How are you meeting people where they are—and then how do you help learn about their interests and skills so you can give them clear things to do?


Embed this resource: