如何創造動量

建立一場運動有時候就像是推著大石頭上山,我們努力對抗龐大的反動力,結果只得到小小的讓步;有時又像衝下山丘──我們發動後就急遽起飛;有時候我們必須不斷跑著,才追得上當下的情形、又必須聚精會神地讓活動朝著正確的方向前進,才不致脫軌。無論我們對於工作的感覺如何,都需要一個東西:動量。

那有什麼能幫助團體創造動量的方法呢?以下分享世界各地的經驗。

結合共同的社會價值

約旦安曼市有兩位主辦人歐馬 (Omar) 和絲芭 (Hiba),發起了一個在地的氣候變遷團體,名叫「我們一起走:所有人都有權享有公共運輸」(معاً معاً نصل – النقل العام حقنا جميعاً)。在參加完350的「全力轉移」 (Globla PowerShift) 之後,他們決心要建立一個解決氣候變遷問題的在地倡議。

問題是在約旦,有關氣候變遷的討論並不常見。很少有記者探討氣候變遷──而且環保運動的歷史也不長。

因此歐馬及絲芭思索著將議題與民眾重視的議題結合的方法。他們發現因為缺乏公共運輸建設,導致較貧窮的約旦人不得不購置私有車輛。結果造成大量的空氣汙染問題,也成為溫室氣體排放的最大元兇之一。

在討論這個議題的時候,他們挑了共通的價值。與其將倡議侷限在他們氣候變遷的價值之中,他們更吸納其他人的價值並吸引新人來參與倡議。倡議關於氣候變遷──但他們因為關注公共運輸之缺乏的問題而吸引大家參與──健康問題與經濟正義。

在與公車乘客及夥伴組織討論之後,他們成功地進行一場城市倡議,改變政府在公共運輸的投資計畫──並建立起日益茁壯的氣候變遷議題之能量。

哪些是受當前政策侵犯的社會共通價值觀呢?有哪些您可以結合到您的議題,但還沒利用的價值觀呢?您的運動要如何發展,進而擁抱最多社會共通的價值觀呢?

事前至少安排兩場行動

有時候我們可以針對弊端好好安排單一的大型行動。若行動成功,人們在事後會問「那然後呢?」但常常我們沒有一個明確的答案。

在巴西,350主辦人妮可・奧利維拉 (Nicole Oliveira) 曾與一個大型聯盟一同阻止頁岩石油公司的剝削。他們在十月七日安排了大型的活動計畫──當時政府準備賣斷土地權(其中包含原住民的土地)給頁岩石油公司。

不過他們也知道只辦一場活動是不夠的,因為這樣的話,政府只須坐等他們活動結束就行了。

所以他們事前準備了好幾個活動:活動前一個月在國際無車日來一場人數超過20,000的馬拉松/單車/健走活動。之後他們很快又與非洲傳統宗教信徒一同組織了一場遊行。這一切都為那大型活動創造了動量。

他們在事前安排了這些計畫,他們事先考慮過如何與不同的民眾與觀眾串聯。每個行動都有其價值,但真正的力量在於所有行動合起來之後,讓人感覺自己是廣大拼圖的一部份──參加完九月的健走後,就會受邀參加下一個活動。

這就是重點:一旦我們完成一場行動,就安排大家參加下一個。當第一場行動結束時,我們已準備好將大家帶往下一步。因而創造出一種動量感

而且他們並不止於主要的土地權賣斷活動之前,他們在事後也有計畫。無論最後成或敗,他們都已預先規劃好十月七日以後的活動,讓大家知道這場運動會繼續下去。

            必須要有些膽識,才能規劃出未來一系列的活動。這也展現了我們對自身組織能力的信心──即便我們還未將所有的行動細節釐清就把它放上日曆。您要如何規劃出一系列的活動,或至少規劃連續兩場的行動呢?

在我們的行動中融入懸疑感

上方的例子也可看見創造氣勢的另一種方式,也就是融入懸疑感。

有時候我們的活動會像這樣列出日期,製造懸疑感。但即使這些不在我們倡議當中(或即使有在其中),我們都可以採積極的態度並自己建立有懸疑感的倡議。

這將形成相當有力且逐漸高漲的行動。德國境內及鄰近的氣候變遷行動主辦人決定在他們的計畫中利用懸疑感,好癱瘓全世界最大的挖煤機(Bagger 288)。他們公開宣示他們的企圖,在網站上寫著:「八月14日至16日,我們與上百位民眾,將以公民不服從行動,阻止科隆附近的褐煤礦區之開採活動。」

他們的計畫相當直接明瞭,儘管以後勤觀點來說相當有挑戰性:帶著上百位民眾前去癱瘓挖礦車。為了增加動量,他們事前安排了多個行動,包括讓民眾簽署「意向書」,承諾參與公民不服從行動,並與Degrowth暑期學校等盟友一同籌辦一場多樣氣候行動營,讓大家得以聚集在一起、認識彼此、在行動中建立互信,並學習可以阻止氣候紊亂的方法。

會發生什麼事?這就是盟友、媒體及大眾想要知道的部分。如此大膽的宣示吸住了大家的目光,產生了興趣、好奇心,及動量。

到最後,將近1,500位民眾參與這場大膽的公民不服從行動,並癱瘓了歐洲最大的二氧化碳排放元兇──關閉了萊茵礦場的生產活動。(http://350.org/ende-gelande-wrap-up/)

有很多方法可以冒不同程度的風險來製造懸疑感:350紐西蘭團隊加入了一場倡議,意圖公開跨太平洋戰略經濟夥伴協定 (TPPA) 當中的秘密協議內容。他們的對策呢?宣布他們企圖以和平且非暴力的方式,針對政府機關採取民主式「搜索並扣押」,以迫使其公布文件。其他還有用競賽或抽獎方式──也是另一種製造懸疑感的方式。

還有哪些行動曾製造出懸疑──不只是對參與者而言,也足以吸引其他夥伴?籌備這些行動需要膽識與創意──您的團體有什麼方式來發揮創意並嘗試新的行動呢?您會試試看哪些有懸疑感的行動?

 

安排行動,出現在別人的焦點活動之中

加拿大主辦人坎姆・芬頓 (Cam Fenton) 描述了他們的政治背景:「隨著油價崩跌、創新高紀錄的夏天野火及看起來終於準備要討論氣候變遷的媒體,我們在近期的加拿大選舉中,有個完美的組合來讓氣候變成熱門的焦點。然而,儘管排放量及溫度不斷升高,加拿大各個政黨的野心卻並未隨之升高。」

他們的目標便是提高媒體上及公眾的討論熱度。他們大可以舉辦自己的行動與活動──可能會有些同情他們的媒體會去報導,並將氣候變遷議題與大選做結合。但因為大多數選任的官員都不願全力處理氣候變遷,且多數的媒體都願意這樣隨波逐流,350加拿大團隊採取不同的策略:前往目光聚集的地方。

他們的策略:跟著候選人的公開行程,打斷他們並高談氣候變遷。(這樣的手法常被稱為緊迫盯人,也就是跟著同一個對象到處跑,不斷地以同樣的訴求進行施壓。)他們不需要召集媒體或觀眾──因為他們就在現場。他們反而「單單」去進行找出政治人物的公開行程的艱難任務,然後混進去就好了。

這個手法有用,就連保守派總理史蒂芬・哈珀被社運份子咬著不放,他們努力混進他其中一個公開活動當中。當地的氣候運動團體及支持聯盟在外面舉行支援集會。在會場裡面,有兩位混了進去,並高舉著「投給氣候正義」的標語。他們立刻被請了出去,但他們的照片像病毒般四處散佈,甚至在推特上收到了多名政黨領導人的回應。(想知道更多:http://350.org/crashing-harpers-campaign/

該行動的主辦人之一烏赫・佛荷 (Aurore Fauret) 是這麼說明其概念的:「這其實就是透過展現異議的廣度來創造動量。」大部分來說對他們滿有用的,因為與其靠他們自己的力量來召集媒體,不如直接出現在媒體的面前。

廣泛而言,這種出現在眾人聚焦的活動上的概念,現在也以較不衝突的方式來進行,像是說服高人氣的歌手在自己的演唱會中放上氣候變遷的訊息,或是讓單車大遊行的主辦人把氣候變遷的行動訴求放進活動當中。

近期內有哪些吸引眾人目光的社會、文化或政治活動?其中有哪些人您可以聯絡的──不管是霸占活動,或是支援他們?這能如何幫我們建立新關係及能量?

給大家明確的責任以保持參與感

沒有什麼比不繼續給大家具體的事情做更能扼殺動量了。我們會流失掉新成員及領導者,更會因沒有方向而導致失望、疲憊或絕望感油然而生。

我們必須想想看如何保持這些關係的品質,並請他們為工作負起更大的責任。舉例來說,找個時間做一對一會談,找出他們的長處及他們參與上次行動的原因。一同想像他們能帶給您的工作什麼貢獻,好讓團隊變得更強大──他們可以出席下一場社區活動或宗教活動,或是與現有的成員搭配主持下一個藝術創作課程?

南非主辦人菲利兒 (Ferrial) 形容與人們坐下來談只是個開始,「我們從事運動的領域是尚未有組織的領域。許多與我們共事的人對政治並沒有那麼大的興趣,也因此我們必須循序漸進來組織。我們常常以輕鬆的方式開頭。像是:『我們要辦個咖啡聚會,歡迎參加。』從那時候開始,你慢慢地帶到氣候變遷議題,並問他們是否想要加入核心團隊。如果他們有了興趣,他們就有可能想要參與其中。但之後要和他們一起努力發展成一個團體,並從非常小的倡議開始。」

每個階段都要有所成長:喝杯咖啡、加入核心團隊,然後進行一場初步的倡議。在每個階段我們要提供各種不同的步驟給他們加入並保持參與感──不只是行動,還有讓他們承擔領導責任的工作、召集其他人、幫忙整理資料──所有能保持大家向心力的事情。

 

您是如何幫助大家承擔領導責任的呢?您是如何找到當地民眾──然後您是如何了解他們的特點與技能、進而給予他們具體的事情去做呢?


將這資源嵌入網頁:

How to Create Momentum

Building a movement can sometimes feel like pushing a boulder up a hill. We’re pushing against major forces who take great effort to budge. Other times it can feel like racing downhill — we start something and it quickly takes-off. Sometimes we are running to keep up with what is happening, spending energy to help events roll on course and in the right direction. Whatever our work feels like, it needs the same thing: momentum.

So what helps groups create momentum? Here are a few lessons from around the world.

 

Connect with widely-held social values

Two organisers in Amman, Jordan, Omar and Hiba, started a local climate change group called We Get Together: we are all entitled public transport (معاً نصل – النقل العام حقنا جميعاً). After attending 350’s Global PowerShift, they committed to building a local campaign to address climate change.

The problem is talking about climate change is not common in Jordan. Few reporters talk about climate change—and there’s not a long history of environmental movement-building.

So Omar and Hiba looked for a way that could connect to the issues that were most important to people. They saw that the lack of public transportation infrastructure gives poorer Jordanians no option but to purchase private cars. That in turn causes massive air pollution and is one of the biggest contributors to greenhouse gas emissions.

In talking about the issue, they picked widely-shared values. Instead of basing the campaign only around their value of climate change, they brought new people into the campaign based on other people’s values, too. The campaign was about climate change—but they got people involved based on the social problems of the lack of public transportation—the health problem and economic injustice.

After talking with bus riders and partner organisations, they are running a successful citywide campaign to change the government’s investment in public transportation—and build growing energy around the issue of climate change.

What are widely-held social values that are being violated by current policy? What are some values that you have not used that can also be tied to your issue? How can your movement grow to embrace the best of widely-held social values?

 

Plan at least two actions ahead of time

Sometimes we can focus on organising a single big action to our own detriment. If the action is successful, when people are done with the action they ask, “So what’s next?” But too often we don’t have a concrete answer.

In Brazil, 350 organiser Nicole Oliveira is working in a large coalition to stop the exploitation by fracking companies. They have big action plans for 7 October—the day when the government is selling off lands rights (including indigenous lands) to fracking companies. What happens in 7 October is crucial.

Yet they are planning ahead with multiple actions. 20 September (international day without a car) they’re taking part in a 20,000+ person marathon/bike ride/walk. They’re also organising a march with people from traditional African religions. Then 4 October they’re orchestrating international solidarity dates (which you can participate and learn more about at www.350.org/nofrackingbrazil).

They’ve organised all these plans ahead of time. They have thought ahead about how to connect with different people and audiences. Each action has its own value. But the power is that taken together it helps people feel part of something—when someone finishes the walk in September they get invited to the next upcoming actions.

This is key: Once we’re done with one action, we organise people into the second. When the first action is over, we have something else to carry people forward. That creates a feeling of momentum.

And it’s not limited to just before the major land rights sale. They have plans afterwards, too. Whether they win or lose, they’ve already prepared people with the idea that the movement will continue by having post-7 October events organised.

It takes some boldness to create a future schedule of events. It shows confidence in our organising capacity—even if we put it on a calendar when the action isn’t totally known. How could you create a whole schedule of events, or even just plan for at least two actions in a row?

 

Use suspense in our actions

The above example raises another way to create momentum, which is the use of suspense. We don’t know what will happen on 7 October—and that creates interest and causes people to talk about it, too.

Sometimes our campaign naturally has dates like that which create suspense. But when those aren’t in our campaign (or even when they are), we can take a powerful attitude and create our own actions that involve suspense.

This can be in really powerful, escalated actions. Climate change organisers in and around Germany decided to use suspense in their plan to shut-down the largest coal diggers in the world (the Bagger 288). They openly made their intention known, putting on their website, “From the 14th to the 16th of August, we, together with hundreds of people, will stop the mines in the lignite mining area near Cologne in an action of Civil Disobedience.”

Their plan was straightforward, though logistically challenging: to bring hundreds of people to physically shut-down the diggers. To help add to the momentum they planned multiple actions ahead of time, including getting people to sign a “declaration of intent” to engage in civil disobedience and coordinating with allies like the Degrowth Summer school who joined forces to build a diverse climate camp, a place to get together, get to know each other, build trust in the movement and learn what we can do to prevent climate chaos.

What would happen? That’s what allies, the media, and the public wanted to know. The boldness enticed people. It created interest, curiosity, and momentum.

In the end, nearly 1,500 people took part in the daring act of civil disobedience and shut down Europe’s biggest source of CO2 emissions—shutting down production in the Rhineland mine (http://350.org/ende-gelande-wrap-up/).

There are lots of ways of creating suspense of varying risks: 350 New Zealand has joined with a campaign to release the secretive negotiating texts of the Trans-Pacific Partnership Agreement (TPPA). Their response? Announcing their intention to peaceably and nonviolently carry out a democratic “search and seizure” on government offices to release the texts. Or others have used contests or raffles—which is another version of suspense.

What are other actions that have created suspense—not just for the actors but enough that it attracted other allies? Creating these actions may involve boldness and creativity—what are ways your group gets creative and experiments with new kinds of actions? What might you try that would involve suspense?

 

Plan actions at others’ attention-getting events

Canadian organiser Cam Fenton describes their political context, “With a collapsed price of oil, a summer of historic wildfires and a media that finally seems be ready to talk about climate change, we have a perfect recipe for climate to be front and centre during the upcoming Canadian election. Yet, while emissions and temperatures are rising, the ambition of Canada’s political parties isn’t.”

Their goal was to push the media and public conversation further. They could have orchestrated their own actions and events—and maybe a handful of sympathetic media would cover the events and connect the issue of climate change to the election. But with most elected leaders unwilling to fully address climate change and most media willing to along with that, 350 Canada picked a different strategy: go to where the attention already was.

Their strategy: following candidates on their public events and interrupt them to talk about climate change. (This tactic is often called bird-dogging, which works by pressuring the same target with the same message wherever they go.) They didn’t have to recruit the media or an audience from the public—that was already there. Instead, they “simply” did the hard work of finding out the politicians’ public schedules and then snuck in.

The tactic worked, like when Conservative Prime Minister Stephen Harper was hounded by activists who managed to get into one of his public events. Local climate activists and supportive unions organised a support rally outside. Inside, two people snuck in and held up signs “Vote for Climate Justice.” They were immediately physically removed, but pictures of them went viral and even sparked twitter responses from party leaders. (More at: http://350.org/crashing-harpers-campaign/)

One of the organisers of the action, Aurore Fauret, explains the concept, “It’s about creating momentum by showing the breadth of dissent.” This largely worked for them because rather than relying on their own ability to recruit media attention, they were showing up where media already are.

Broadly, this concept of going where events are already getting attention has been done in less confrontational ways, too, such as convincing high-profile singers to include a message about climate change in their concert or getting organisers of a march bike ride to include action messages on climate change.

What are some upcoming social, cultural, or political events where there is already attention? Are there some of them that you can connect with—either by taking them over, or playing a supportive role? How can this help us build new relationships and energy?

Offer people specific responsibilities to stay involved

Few things can stop momentum as quickly as not offering people something concrete to do next. We can lose potential new members and leaders, but also without direction it can lead to feelings of despair, burn-out, or hopelessness.

We need to think about how to support the quality of the relationships and invite others to take greater responsibility for the work. For example, find a time to meet one to one, find out what their strengths are and why they were drawn to the last action. Together, envision what they can bring to your work to make the team stronger—can they present at an upcoming community event or religious community or be paired with a current member to convene the next art-making session?

South Africa organiser Ferrial describes how just sitting down with people is a beginning process, “We are trying activism in areas that are not well-organised. Many of the people we work with are not that interested in politics, and so we have to ease into organising. We often start very casually. Like, ‘we’re hosting a coffee, please come.’ From that, you kind of ease into talking about climate change issues and ask if they want to join a core team. If they’ve taken the hook chances are they want to be involved. But then work with them to develop a group and start off with very small campaigns.”

Each step the asks grow: have coffee, join the core team, and then run an initial campaign. At each stage we offer different specific steps they can take to stay involved—not only actions but also tasks to step into leadership, recruit other people, help with the database—anything that keeps people connected.

How are you helping people step into more leadership? How are you meeting people where they are—and then how do you help learn about their interests and skills so you can give them clear things to do?


Embed this resource: