提升您志工的參與程度: 使用參與階梯

發起一場運動並不只是帶一場行動,是培育人們有力的自覺。為此,我們需要大家增加他們對運動本身的參與及投入。這也意味著隨著時間過去,我們也必須提供讓人們能更加投入的方法。有些人可能沒時間、沒需求,或沒能力。但對有這些元素的人,我們要創造機會──並邀請人們更積極地參與。

所需時間: 20 分钟 群體大小: 5-20 人

舉350非洲地區團長菲麗歐.亞當 (Ferrial Adam) 的經驗為例。她曾與南非的草根階層女性一同努力,支持一項稱為「自由基礎電力」的政策。該政策保證政府將會為貧困家庭支付一定比例的金額,以提供免費的電力(目前為50千瓦小時,大概是一般美國家庭的5%)。由於電力之缺乏常會導致整個社區陷入貧窮狀態,這可說是相當嚴重的問題。舉例來說,缺乏電力之社區常常依賴碳密集的石蠟、蠟燭或砍伐樹木,並對環境及人體健康造成許多負面的影響(例如:每年約有80,000名孩童因誤飲石蠟而中毒)。

大多人視這項政策為社會正義政策,許多社運份子甚至說不夠,想要再提高電量。然而這項政策影響最大的人卻未能參與討論。因此菲麗歐的工作便是了解這對家庭來說的實質影響,也意謂著她必須深入約翰尼斯堡的貧困社區。

因此她從人們居住的地方開始。第一步便是前往民眾的住家並告訴他們她想做的事。她讓民眾開始監測自家的用電量。她與當家的(大多數為女性)建立關係。花了好幾個月,每兩週拜訪一次,教導民眾計算不同家電的用電量。

之後,她讓民眾進行下一步,增強自身的力量與音量。這段期間她邀請民眾參與工作坊,討論電力或氣候變遷。民眾開始變得更有知識、更投入,更準備好大聲說出自己想法。

幾個月後,當她寫完報告的時候,下一階段的機會便出現了。該國的管理機關正在商討透過增加租稅調漲費用,並正在舉辦公聽會。菲麗歐問這些女性是否想要為自己發聲。她們立刻把握機會。菲麗歐形容:「大家前往公聽會並共同發聲,解釋為什麼政府該調漲電費,這實在太棒了。」

大多數女性在數個月之前根本無法出席公聽會。因此,菲麗歐利用這幾個月,透過不同的參與階段來幫助民眾──讓他們增進對自身用電量的知識、學習氣候變遷的國家政策與影響等。每一個階段都讓他們增加自信,最後得以為自己在公聽會上發聲。

 

這樣的概念有時候被稱為「參與階梯」。有些主辦人講明了;在他們腦中會根據每個人在該議題上的投入與連結程度, 給予1到5分之間的一個分數。舉例來說,1分的人,代表對活動沒有關係也不了解該活動;5分的人,則是準備好參與所有行動。

無論如何,要清楚知道的事:你要求對方做的事,一定要與他們參與的程度相符合。這對每個團體來說相當有幫助,也就是檢視他們為不同參與程度的人所提供的方法,並持續拉到更多願意更投入的民眾參與。

舉例來說,有些團體會列個清單:

 

高度參與
願意做個人的犧牲
與友好組織會面
主持一場會議
打電話
參與遊行
寫信
閱讀小手冊
配戴小徽章
簽署連署書
低度參與

 

這不是什麼精準科學,每個人的情況都不一樣(有些人對打電話就是有著無限恐懼,但卻樂於冒著風險進行公民不服從行動。)

然而,透過這個參與階梯去看我們的運動份子,可幫助我們為他們設想下一步。就如同菲麗歐所做的,劃分不同階段,不斷提升他們參與及投入的程度。如此可培養彼此的關係並幫助民眾往參與階梯的上方前進,這也是您增加自己團體的參與程度之竅門。

(如何讓大家參與其中)


投入階梯表單

  • 列出您曾叫團體成員進行的工作
  • 想想看您未曾叫大家做過的事。例如:有哪些是在做、不願分出來的工作呢?或是有哪些未來可以進行的行動呢?
  • 依照「較有挑戰」及「較沒挑戰」來整理這份清單。留意可能是「介於其中」的工作──像是「帶零食來開會」和「同意主持下一場會議」之間的許多階段。
  • 為您的志工想想看──他們已經做過哪些工作?他們下一步可以做什麼?
  • 面對任何將領導權及責任分出去時的焦慮感或恐懼感。制訂計劃來處理這些情緒。
  • 分派工作──並培育出更多積極投入且強大的領袖!
Ladder 高度參與/對您團體而言更有挑戰的工作

________________________________

________________________________

________________________________

________________________________

________________________________

________________________________

________________________________

________________________________

低度參與/對您團體而言更沒挑戰的工作


將這資源嵌入網頁:

Increase your volunteer’s involvement: using the ladder of engagement

Building a movement isn’t just about carrying out an action. Movement-building is about growing relationships, and growing people’s sense of power. For that, we offer ways to get people more deeply involved. The concept of the ladder of engagement can make sure we are inviting people to make a deeper commitment.

Time: 20 minutes Group Size: 5-20 people

A story from 350 African regional team leader Ferrial Adam provides us an example. She was part of an environmental justice organisation working with folks at the grassroots. Led largely by women, they were challenging a government policy called the “Free Basic Electricity.” That policy guarantees the government will pay for a certain amount of electricity to poorer households (currently 50KWh, about 5% of that of the average US home).

This is a major issue as the lack of access to energy often dooms whole districts to poverty. For example, those lacking electricity often rely on carbon-intensive paraffin, candles, or cutting down trees, with a host of negative environmental and health effects (for example, approximately 80,000 children are poisoned from accidentally drinking paraffin each year).

This policy was widely credited as a social justice policy, with many activists wanting to increase the amount saying it wasn’t enough. But those who were most impacted by this policy weren’t part of the debate. So Ferrial was tasked with undertaking a research study to learn more about the actual impacts this had for households, which meant going to the poor districts in Johannesburg.

So she started with where the people were. Her first step was identifying a group of women who were keen and already working on energy struggles. It was important to start by explaining the intention and need for the work. She started by getting people to monitor their use of electricity. She spent time building relationships with mostly women, who ran the household. It took many months of weekly workshops to teach people to calculate the energy consumption of different household items.

A few months later, as she finished her report, an opportunity came for another step. The national regulatory body was talking about increasing the costs through tariffs and was holding public hearings. Through the organisation, the women were asked if they would testify on their own behalf. This was a natural next step for them, and they jumped at the chance. Ferrial describes, “It was so amazing and powerful watching people go to a hearing and speak as a collective on why the government should not raise the price of electricity.”

This was a good example of developing research that could challenge policy, but was owned at a grassroots level. The women were supported through steps of engagement over the months—their gaining expertise about their own usage, education on national policy and the impacts on climate change. Each step gave them increased confidence to be able to not only testify but be strong community activists.

Ladder of Engagement (picture of a ladder)

This concept is sometimes called the “ladder of engagement.” Some organizers make this very explicit: in their minds they’ll assign someone a number based on how involved and connected the person is to the issue on a scale from 1 to 5. For someone who is a “1,” for example, has no connection to the campaign and what’s going on, where a “5” is ready to show up to any action.

Either way, the lesson should be clear: What you ask someone to do must be related to their level of engagement. It’s helpful for each group to think about some of the pathways they have created for people to express different levels of engagement, and how to keep finding the people who are ready for more involvement.

Some groups create a list, for example:

High Engagement

Be willing to do personal sacrifice
Meet with an ally organization
Facilitate a meeting
Make a phone call
Attend a rally
Write a letter
Read pamphlet
Wear a button
Sign petition

Low Engagement

This isn’t a science and each person is different (some people have absolute terror making phone calls but would happily risk civil disobedience).

But thinking about our activists with the ladder of engagement in mind helps us think about the next step for them, and as Ferrial did, offering steps to keep increasing their level of commitment and involvement. This cultivates the relationships and helps people move up the ladder of engagement, which is how you, too, will increase your group’s involvement.


Ladder of Engagement Worksheet

  • Make a list of tasks you have asked people in your group to do.
  • Think of things you haven’t asked people to do. For example, what work do you do but neglect to give away? Or what are future actions that could be done?
  • Order this list based on what is “more challenging” and “less challenging.” Look for tasks that might be “in between”— for example there’s a number of steps between bringing snacks to a meeting and agreeing to facilitate the next meeting.
  • Consider your volunteers — what tasks have they already done? What might be next for them?
  • Face any anxiety or fears you have about giving away more leadership and responsibility. Make a plan to address these.
  • Give away tasks — and get more engaged, powerful leaders!

 

Ladder High Engagement / more challenging tasks for your group

________________________________

________________________________

________________________________

________________________________

________________________________

________________________________

________________________________

________________________________

Low Engagement / less challenging tasks for your group


Embed this resource: