رفع مستوى مشاركة المتطوعين باستخدام سلم المشاركة

إن بناء حركة لا يقتصر فقط على التحركات، بل وعلى بناء العلاقات وتنمية حس الناس بالمسؤولية أيضاً، ولذلك نقدم لكم هنا طرقاً لرفع مستوى مشاركة الناس، باستخدام مفهوم "سلم المشاركة" سنكون على ثقة أننا ندعو الناس ليقدموا التزامات أكبر.

الوقت المطلوب 20 دقيقة العدد المناسب للمجموعة 5-20 الناس

وتقدم لنا القصة التالية من قائدة فريق محلي في منظمة 350 في أفريقيا مثالاً عن ذلك، حيث كانت فيريال آدم عضوة في منظمة عدالة بيئية تعمل مع الناس على المستوى الشعبي، وكان يقود تلك المنظمة طاقم نسائي في أغلبه، وكانوا يحتجون على برنامج حكومي يدعى “الكهرباء الأساسية المجانية” حيث كان البرنامج يضمن أن الحكومة ستقوم بتغطية قيمة معينة فقط من فواتير الكهرباء للبيوت الفقيرة (50 كيلو واط ساعي، أي حوالي 5% من متوسط ما يستهلكه منزل أمريكي).

وتكمن أهمية هذه المسألة في أن نقص مصادر الكهرباء يهدد أحياء فقيرة بكاملها، وذلك نتيجة اعتمادها على البارافين الذي يصدر الكثير من الكربون، وعلى الشموع وقطع الأشجار مما يؤدي إلى الكثير من التأثيرات السلبية على البيئة والصحة، حيث يصاب 80000 طفلا كل عام بالتسمم نتيجة شرب البارافين عن طريق الصدفة.

ويعتبر هذا البرنامج برنامج عدالة اجتماعية، وبالرغم من ذلك طالب العديد من النشطاء بزيادة المبلغ المدفوع من الفواتير معتبرين أنه غير كاف، ولم يشارك أكثر المتأثرين بهذا البرنامج في الحوار، فتم تكليف فيريال بإجراء دراسة بحثية للتعمق أكثر في التأثيرات الواقعية للبرنامج على البيوت مما يعني ذهاب فيريال إلى الأحياء الفقيرة في جوهانسبرغ.

وبدأت فيريال بالمناطق التي تواجد فيها المتأثرون بالبرنامج، وكانت مهمتها الأولى هي اختيار مجموعة من النساء ممن لديهن الحرص والخبرة في صراعات الطاقة، وقد كان من المهم البدء بشرح النية والحاجة للبحث، ثم بدأت بالطلب منهن مراقبة استهلاك منازلهن من الكهرباء، وأمضت وقتاً وهي تحاول بناء علاقات مع النساء وبخاصة من يدرن منازلهن، فاستغرق الأمر عدة أشهر من الورشات الأسبوعية لتعليم حساب استهلاك الطاقة للأجهزة الكهربائية المنزلية.

وعندما أنهت تقريرها بعد عدة أشهر، حان الوقت للخطوة التالية حيث كانت الهيئة الوطنية المسؤولة تتحدث عن زيادة التكاليف عن طريق التعريفة الكهربائية، وكانت تعقد جلسات حوار شعبية، فسألت النساء في المنظمة إذا كن يردن الإدلاء بآرائهن، فتحمسن كثيراً حيث وجدن فرصتهن، وتقول فريال: لقد كانت رؤية الناس يتوجهون للجلسات ويتحدثون بشكل جماعي عن الأسباب التي تدعو الحكومة لعدم زيادة التعريفة الكهربائية تثير مشاعري.

وتشكل هذه القصة مثالاً جيداً عن تطوير بحوث تتحدى سياسات حكومية، ولكنه نفذ على المستوى الشعبي، حيث تم دعم النساء بمهام متدرجة على مدى عدة أشهر فاكتسبن الخبرة حول استهلاك منازلهن من الكهرباء وتثقفن حول السياسات الوطنية والتأثيرات على التغير المناخي. وأعطتهن كل خطوة ثقة متزايدة بأنفسهن ليتمكنوا ليس فقط من الإدلاء بشهاداتهن، بل وليكنّ تجمعاً قوياً من النشطاء.

ويسمى العمل بهذه الطريقة مفهوم “سلم المشاركة”، ويوضح بعض النشطاء كيفية تطبيق هذا المفهوم أكثر ويمنحون كل شخص عدداً من المهام بحسب مشاركته وتواصله مع القضية بحسب مقياس من 1 إلى 5، بحيث يكون الشخص ذو العلامة 1 بدون تواصل مع الحملة وما يجري فيها، بينما يكون الشخص ذو العلامة 5 مستعداً لحضور أي حدث.

وعلى أية حال، الأمر بسيط الفهم: إن ما تطلبه من شخص ما يجب أن يكون متناسباً مع مستوى مشاركته، ومن المهم أن ندرس الطرق المختلفة لقياس مستويات المشاركة في فرقنا والاستمرار في إيجاد الناس ذوي الاستعداد الأكبر للمشاركة.

وتقوم بعض المجموعات بإنشاء قائمة كالتالي:

 

مشاركة عالية

أن يكون قادراً على التضحية الشخصية

أن يقابل منظمات حليفة

أن ينظم اجتماعات

أن يجري اتصالات

أن يحضر مسيرة

أن يكتب رسالة

أن يقرأ منشوراً

أن يرتدي شعاراً

أن يوقع عريضة

مشاركة منخفضة

 

ولا يخفى على أحد أن كل شخص مختلف عن الآخر (حيث يخشى بعض الناس من إجراء مكالمة هاتفية لكنهم يشاركون ببساطة في عصيان مدني).

وإن تنظيم نشاطاتنا باستخدام سلم المشاركة يساعدنا في انتقاء المهمات القادمة لنشطائنا، وكما فعلت فريال حين طلبت من فريقها مهمات متدرجة لتزيد مستوى التزامهم ومشاركتهم. وتطور هذه الطريقة الترابط وتساعد الفريق على الارتقاء على سلم المشاركة، وبذلك تكون قد تمكنت من زيادة مشاركة فريقك.

 

(كيف تدفع الآخرين إلى المشاركةخطة عمل سلم المشاركة)

[رفع مستوى مشاركة المتطوعين باستخدام سلم المشاركة]
  • أعد قائمة من المهام التي كنت قد طلبتها من أعضاء فريقك.
  • فكر بمهام لم تطلب من مجموعتك القيام بها، كالمهام التي تهمل التخلي عنها؟ أو المهام التي يمكنكم القيام بها مستقبلاً.
  • صنف الأعمال في القائمة  بحسب المهام الأصعب أو الأسهل وابحث عن المهام المتوسطة الصعوبة (بين- بين) كالخطوات الرديفة، فهناك عدد من الخطوات بين إحضار وجبات والموافقة على تنظيم الاجتماع المقبل.
  • فكر ما المهام التي أنجزها الناشطون من قبل؟ وما الذي بإمكانهم إنجازه  في المستقبل؟
  • واجه أي قلق لديك بخصوص التخلي عن بعض المسؤوليات القيادية وصمم خطة لتقوم بذلك
  • تخلى عن المهام واحصل على قادة مشاركين وأقوياء !

 

 

Ladder الالتزام العالي يعادل مهمات أكثر صعوبة لفريقك
________________________________
________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________الالتزام المنخفض يعادل مهمات أكثر سهولة لفريقك

إستخدم هذا المورد

Increase your volunteer’s involvement: using the ladder of engagement

Building a movement isn’t just about carrying out an action. Movement-building is about growing relationships, and growing people’s sense of power. For that, we offer ways to get people more deeply involved. The concept of the ladder of engagement can make sure we are inviting people to make a deeper commitment.

Time: 20 minutes Group Size: 5-20 people

A story from 350 African regional team leader Ferrial Adam provides us an example. She was part of an environmental justice organisation working with folks at the grassroots. Led largely by women, they were challenging a government policy called the “Free Basic Electricity.” That policy guarantees the government will pay for a certain amount of electricity to poorer households (currently 50KWh, about 5% of that of the average US home).

This is a major issue as the lack of access to energy often dooms whole districts to poverty. For example, those lacking electricity often rely on carbon-intensive paraffin, candles, or cutting down trees, with a host of negative environmental and health effects (for example, approximately 80,000 children are poisoned from accidentally drinking paraffin each year).

This policy was widely credited as a social justice policy, with many activists wanting to increase the amount saying it wasn’t enough. But those who were most impacted by this policy weren’t part of the debate. So Ferrial was tasked with undertaking a research study to learn more about the actual impacts this had for households, which meant going to the poor districts in Johannesburg.

So she started with where the people were. Her first step was identifying a group of women who were keen and already working on energy struggles. It was important to start by explaining the intention and need for the work. She started by getting people to monitor their use of electricity. She spent time building relationships with mostly women, who ran the household. It took many months of weekly workshops to teach people to calculate the energy consumption of different household items.

A few months later, as she finished her report, an opportunity came for another step. The national regulatory body was talking about increasing the costs through tariffs and was holding public hearings. Through the organisation, the women were asked if they would testify on their own behalf. This was a natural next step for them, and they jumped at the chance. Ferrial describes, “It was so amazing and powerful watching people go to a hearing and speak as a collective on why the government should not raise the price of electricity.”

This was a good example of developing research that could challenge policy, but was owned at a grassroots level. The women were supported through steps of engagement over the months—their gaining expertise about their own usage, education on national policy and the impacts on climate change. Each step gave them increased confidence to be able to not only testify but be strong community activists.

Ladder of Engagement (picture of a ladder)

This concept is sometimes called the “ladder of engagement.” Some organizers make this very explicit: in their minds they’ll assign someone a number based on how involved and connected the person is to the issue on a scale from 1 to 5. For someone who is a “1,” for example, has no connection to the campaign and what’s going on, where a “5” is ready to show up to any action.

Either way, the lesson should be clear: What you ask someone to do must be related to their level of engagement. It’s helpful for each group to think about some of the pathways they have created for people to express different levels of engagement, and how to keep finding the people who are ready for more involvement.

Some groups create a list, for example:

High Engagement

Be willing to do personal sacrifice
Meet with an ally organization
Facilitate a meeting
Make a phone call
Attend a rally
Write a letter
Read pamphlet
Wear a button
Sign petition

Low Engagement

This isn’t a science and each person is different (some people have absolute terror making phone calls but would happily risk civil disobedience).

But thinking about our activists with the ladder of engagement in mind helps us think about the next step for them, and as Ferrial did, offering steps to keep increasing their level of commitment and involvement. This cultivates the relationships and helps people move up the ladder of engagement, which is how you, too, will increase your group’s involvement.


Ladder of Engagement Worksheet

  • Make a list of tasks you have asked people in your group to do.
  • Think of things you haven’t asked people to do. For example, what work do you do but neglect to give away? Or what are future actions that could be done?
  • Order this list based on what is “more challenging” and “less challenging.” Look for tasks that might be “in between”— for example there’s a number of steps between bringing snacks to a meeting and agreeing to facilitate the next meeting.
  • Consider your volunteers — what tasks have they already done? What might be next for them?
  • Face any anxiety or fears you have about giving away more leadership and responsibility. Make a plan to address these.
  • Give away tasks — and get more engaged, powerful leaders!

 

Ladder High Engagement / more challenging tasks for your group

________________________________

________________________________

________________________________

________________________________

________________________________

________________________________

________________________________

________________________________

Low Engagement / less challenging tasks for your group


Embed this resource: