如何帶一個閉眼階段

我們一開始的假設是:從我們自身的經驗學習是有效且有力的。本階段讓大家有些時間可以進行內省(若想要的話,可以「閉上眼睛」),有助於學員好好回想並善用一段正面的經驗。之後大家分享各自的故事──以加強學習效果──並在最後與大架構相嵌合。

所需時間: 20-45 分钟 群體大小: 5-50 人

 

流程

 

  1. 閉眼階段
  • 解釋接下來的過程(可包含「你們有多少人是…」等問題)
  • 拆成分享小組(3-5人一組)
  • 請各個小組決定分享的順序,第一、第二、第三……
  • 放鬆(深呼吸,紓解緊繃的身體)
  • 「請你回想你曾成功地……如果你想到一個以上的類似經驗,請挑出一個就好」
  • 「盡量讓回憶越鮮活越好」(善用視覺、聽覺、身體/動覺、感情/情緒)
  • 重點。例如:「你自己有什麼樣的特質或人格,讓你能夠這樣做呢?你從這樣的經驗當中汲取到什麼教訓、值得學習?」

 

  1. 小組分享

帶他們走過一遍,告知每個人的時間多少。工作坊人數越多,這部分的嚴謹度與一致性就越重要。(視文化而定,有時候省去帶他們走過一遍每個人的時間限制比較好。另外您也可以告訴學員一個組別的時間共有多少,並宣布「這大概是我們這階段的三分之一的時間」等等)

 

  1. 整組分享

使用大幅紙張來「採收」每個人的故事。必要時,可以說我們不需要在此時有共識;主要是讓每個人有機會提出各自的觀點。

要注意的是,這時候也是主持人將材料框住(給個框架),讓這階段有個重心,有助於學習。只要有機會,盡量將大家的評論連結成大原則,或是連到工作坊下個主題。一段簡短的故事或軼事在這也會有所幫助。你也可以簡短地描述一個資料,像是一本書、一篇文章或一份講義。記得要請大家看過清單,好有個印象或鮮明的歸納/原則。

 

訓練師筆記:這套方法源自於我們的信仰,我們相信答案就在人的內心。舉例來說,在一場為一群援助運動成員、沒有任何主持經驗的人進行主持人訓練時,我們就會用這個工具。我們叫每個人想出自己曾幫助一個朋友克服挑戰的經驗。每個人想到一個故事或他們曾做過的行為──我們再將這個清單與主持人技能的清單做對照。無需事先知道什麼,人們就在主持了──之後他們就知道他們早就知道了!


將這資源嵌入網頁:

How to Lead a Closed-Eye Process

We start with the assumption that it is both validating and empowering to learn from our own experience. This process allows people some time for inner reflection (with their “eyes-closed” if they so desire) to help people vividly remember a positive experience and use it. Then people get to share that story—which reinforces the learning—and finally get to put it in a larger framework.

Time: 20-45 minutes Group Size: 5-50 people

Procedure:

1. Closed-Eye Process

  • Explain what it will be about (maybe include question like “How many of you…”)
  • Form sharing groups (3-5 in a group)
  • Ask groups to decide who will share first, second, third…
  • Relaxation (deep breathing, letting go of tension in body)
  • “I invite you to remember a time when you successfully… If you’re remembering more than one time like that, choose one for this exercise”
  • “Bring it as vividly to mind as possible” (use eye channel, ear channel, body/movement, feelings/emotions)
  • The punch line. For example, “What qualities or characteristics inside you enabled you to do that? What lessons did you draw from that experience for your own learning?”

2. Small group sharing

Walk them through this, announcing the amount of time per person. The larger the workshop, the more important to be formal and insistent on this. (It may not be culturally appropriate to walk them through individual time limits. Alternatively you could tell people approximately how much total group time they have and announce “That’s about one-third of our time for this part,” etc.)

3. Whole group sharing

Use big paper to “harvest” from individuals. It may be necessary to say that we don’t need agreement at this point; the main thing is that there’s a chance for individuals to put forward their perspective.

Note that this is a good chance for the facilitator to frame (put a context around) the material, in order to anchor it more securely for learning. Whenever possible, connect people’s comments to general principles, or to emerging themes in the workshop. A brief story or anecdote may work well here. Often it’s possible to describe briefly a resource, like a book, article or hand-out. Be sure to invite people to study the list, for memory or even for fresh generalizations/principles.

Trainer note: This approach stems from our belief that people have the answers inside of them. For example, during a facilitator training of a group of activist AIDS survivors with no formal facilitation experience, we used this tool. We asked each person to come up with a time you successfully helped a friend through a challenge. Each person found a story and behaviors they used – then we took that list and compared it with a list of facilitator skills. Without knowing it, people were facilitating – now they knew it!


Embed this resource: