如何在團體內建立安全感

您可以想到許多團體安全感的理由。其一便是讓大家學習並發展,以方便進行非常規行為。這也代表冒險。冒險便需要一個可以安全地實驗、失敗、伸展及成長的團體。

千萬別把安全感與一個大家能與彼此相處愉快的環境混為一談。事實上,如果您能順利地營造出安全感,整個團體就更願意踏出舒適圈、嘗試新事物並探索與成長。因此感到不適可以是創造安全感的自然結果。(讓一個團體接受新想法 擴展舒適圈)

主持人如何創造安全感?

在一個工作坊或一個團體的初期,成員多會看向領導人,試著了解這是什麼樣的空間?因此,特別在一開始,您的表現便有所影響。給予溫暖的關注。告訴大家您重視安全感。對諒解給予支持,包含承認自己的錯誤並示範自我原諒。(誰想在一個不可犯錯的團體呀?)

另一個要點就是對於大家各種表現的寬容。我們不必因為某個人生氣、情緒化或碰到問題而感到緊張。當我們對人表現出寬容,我們可以幫助成員了解:他們不需要照顧別人或是阻止別人表現出「壞」情緒。

同時,我們可以請團體裡所有成員為團體負起責任。在太平洋島嶼,有些訓練師會讓團體自己主持會議並決定團體的運作方式,並為整個團體訂定團體規約。


主持人該如何來營造安全感?

唯有大家在團體內營造出信任與連結,才會營造出安全感。許多主持人會把這當作「輪流發言」這樣──但大家無法立刻認識所有人 (繞一圈)。  最能幫助大家體驗安全感就是許多大大小小的小組(兩人、三人、四人一組)。當他們在小組內互相連結,便能為整個團體創造安全感。

有些主持人會利用學伴制度或相近的持續性支持團體制度。有證據指出只要有至少一個人認真地關心某人,願意定期地關心他們的學習狀況,這個人便會學得更多。

如此便可歸結出一個大原則:在許多文化當中,使用清楚架構(像是精確的句子或是清晰且具體的解釋,來告知後續發展)對團體來說相當重要。如此便有種安全感,因為大家知道有主持人照料著他們。嚴謹可營造信任與安全感,例如給予精確的休息時間或是主持人說到做到。

另一個有用的技巧就是讓每一位成員為自己設立目標。他們在工作坊中想獲得什麼?他們要如何確保有所得呢?然後定期檢查這些目標。

人們常常藉由冒險並發現沒事而產生安全感──所以要設計出一個讓團體成員冒險並增進安全感的適當機會。訓練工作坊當中,安排大家站在團體面前介紹自己便是一個例子。當人冒了風險──但完成任務時看到其他人給予支持,他們的安全感便會油然而生。

設計的時候,應該考慮到任何被邊緣化的特殊情況。像是有沒有留空間給歷史上常遭忽略的民族,或是包容團體內獨特的方法?在開始設計前,是否有足夠的資訊?您是否留有時間,讓自己得以檢查任何不同的可能性並聽取意見,確保自己沒有悖離方向?

同樣,您設計的問題,是否容許不同程度的自我揭露?有些人可能會揭露許多自身的資訊,有些人則比較少。不管分享多少都應該沒問題才對。

如果您能善用這些方法,您就有可能營造出有安全感的團體──讓他們得以學習的安全感,最終使其成為積極進取的改革者!


將這資源嵌入網頁:

How to Build Safety in a Group

You can probably think of many reasons for group safety. One reason is that for people to grow and learn, they generally need to do something different than their usual behaviours. That means taking a risk. Taking a risk requires a group where it’s safe to experiment, to fail, to stretch, and to grow.

Safety shouldn’t be confused with a space where people feel comfortable and easy with each other. In fact, if you do good job of creating safety, the group will often try new things outside of their comfort zones to stretch and grow. (Read more about expanding comfort zones.) So being uncomfortable can be be a natural result of creating safety.

What can facilitators do to create safety?

Early in a workshop or the life of a group, people often look to the leader to find out what kind of space this is. Therefore, especially early on, your modeling makes a difference. Give warm attention. Tell the group you value safety. Give support for forgiveness, including acknowledging your own mistakes and modeling self-forgiveness (who wants to be part of a group where nobody can make mistakes?).

Another important attribute is modeling being okay with a range of people’s expressions. We don’t have to get anxious because someone is angry, emotional, or in crisis. When we model being okay with people, we help participants know they don’t have to be care-takers or stop people from having “bad” feelings.

At the same time, we can invite the group to take responsibility for the whole group. In the Pacific Islands some trainers create a group treaty, by having the group find some people to lead a process of making agreements on how the group wants to operate. Then the facilitators leave the room and let the participants collect responses and make a group agreement. That process allows the group to take responsibility for and own the processes.

How can facilitators use design to support safety?

Safety is built as people build trust and relationships in the group. Many facilitators assume that means something like a “go-round” where everyone speaks—but people cannot meet the whole group at once. What helps most people experience safety is lots of small group of different sizes (trios, fours, pairs). As they build up small relationships, it creates safety for the overall group.

Some facilitators include a buddy system or some kind of ongoing support groups. It’s been shown that people learn more when they have at least one other person who is intentionally and regularly checking-in about their learning.

This brings up a general principle: in many cultures using clear structures (like precise formulations of sentence completions, or clear and concrete explanation of what will happen next) is important for groups. It often supports safety because people know they are being taken care of by the facilitator. It builds trust and safety to have rigor, like giving precise amounts of time for a break or when the facilitator does what they say they will do.

Another design technique that can be useful is to have participants individually set goals for themselves. What do they want to get out of the workshop? How will they make sure they get it? Then check in about those goals periodically.

People develop safety by taking risks and finding it turns out okay—so a design should give people opportunity for increasing risk-taking appropriate to the group and their safety. One example is a training of trainer workshop where people are asked to stand in front of the room and introduce themselves to the group. People experience risk—but when they complete the task and see others supporting them, their sense of safety grows.

The design should think about differences that may be marginalized. Is there space for people who have historically marginalized identities or approaches that are unique among the group? Is there more information you need before you can design? Have you built in some time for you to check in with different margins and get feedback to make sure you are on track?

Also have you structured questions that it’s okay for a range of self-disclosure? Some people may share a lot about themselves, and others may share less. Whatever they share is okay.

If you manage to do many of these things, you’ll likely create a group with some safety—the safety required for them to learn to be bold, active change makers!


Embed this resource: